Seaports in Nigeria

List of Seaports in Nigeria & Their Details

Share This On

Seaports in Nigeria is regulated by Nigeria Port Authority (NPA) which is a Federal Government agency that governs and operates the seaport in Nigeria. It was founded in 1954 following the implementation of the Ports Act of 1954 mainly to Regulate the ports industry of Nigeria.



A Seaport is known to be a maritime commercial facility that may comprise one or more wharves where ships may dock to load and also discharge passengers and cargo.
Seaport is located on a sea coast or estuary with access from the sea via a river or canal. Due to the sea flow, Asia has the greatest growth in port development.

The headquarters of the Nigerian Port Authority (NPA) is in Marina, in the state of Lagos. The Nigeria Port Authority (NPA) collaborates with the Nigerian Shippers Council, the Ministry of Transport, and other organisations.

The Lagos Port Complex and Tin Can Island Port Complex are the two biggest ports, according to the Nigeria Port Authority (NPA), both of which are located in Lagos. The other ports are the Onne Port Complex and the Rivers Port Complex, both in Rivers State, the Calabar Port Complex in Cross River State, the Delta Ports in Warri, Delta State, and the Rivers Port Complex.

Below is the list of seaports in Nigeria arranged Alphabetically

Calabar port is the Eastern Naval Command of the Nigerian Navy and has its headquarters in the historic city of Calabar, Cross River State, in the southeast of Nigeria. 55 nautical miles up the Calabar River are the port facilities.

Delta Port: The country’s Niger River Delta region, where oil and natural gas are produced, is home to Delta Port. Other minor ports in Delta State include Warri, Burutu, and Sapele in addition to Escravos and Forcados oil facilities.


Lagos Port Complex: Apapa, Lagos State is the location of Lagos Port Complex. It is the country’s main economic entryway. since it is Nigeria’s largest seaport, it mostly serves Lagos and western Nigeria. Along with the Tin Can Island Port, it is in the state of Lagos.

Onne Port: Onne is situated in Rivers State, 19 kilometres from Port Harcourt, on Ogu Creek, close to the Bonny River. Eleme LGA, Ogu-Bolo LGA, and Bonny LGA are the three local government areas in Rivers State where the Onne port is located. The Federal Ocean Terminal and the Federal Lighter Terminal are the two main buildings that make up the Onne port.

Rivers Port/Port Harcourt: The Rivers Port Complex on the Gulf of Guinea-coastal Rivers State. It all began with one berth for coal export and expanded to four berths to handle a cargo mix of import and export goods. NPA claims that the Port’s 1,259-foot-long dock can accommodate eight contemporary seagoing vessels loading and unloading simultaneously. It contains four (4) Arcon sheds with a storage capacity of 12,486.15 square metres and 16 tanks with a 3,048 tonne capacity of bulk oil installation. Additionally, there are seven stacking spaces, each measuring 27,407.15 square metres.

Tin Can Island Port –The Tin Can Island Port, which has a bearing of Latitude 62*N Longitude 30* 23E, is situated to the northwest of the Lagos Port Complex. It began operating in 1977, when the nation’s economic activity increased as a result of the oil boom and the reconstruction that followed the American Civil War. Due to the significant port congestion caused by the large amount of imports and exports, the government built a new port on Tin Can Island that can accommodate 10 to 16 vessels at once and has a total area of 73 hectres for the main port complex.

It’s crucial to be aware that Nigeria’s largest seaport is the Lagos Port Complex.

Share This On

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *